Dandy Campers

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.
Dandy Campers

Dandy Trailer Tent / Folding Camper Enthusiasts. Dandy Trailer Tent/Folding camper the best for all year camping

+2
navver
belfast454
6 posters

newbie here

belfast454

newbie here Empty newbie here

Post by belfast454 Mon 09 Jun 2014, 11:25 pm

Hi, went and bought myself(and family) a dandy today Smile . its quite an old one but its new to me, its a dandy 6 or i think it is with what i've googled. it's the brown canopy one with the brown checked interior. can't wait to go camping now in July.
    can anyone help with information on whether i can get a universal awning to fit it.
    navver

newbie here Empty Re: newbie here

Post by navver Mon 09 Jun 2014, 11:49 pm

Hi and welcome to the forum. If the beds open over the tow bar it's a 6.

Awnings for dandys are a bit different to general caravan awnings. The standard dandy awning has 5 poles which hook over the side walls. The roof passes into the inside of the dandy and ties to the roof poles. The roof rope along the side is then tightened to seal it from the wind etc.

You will normally have to carry out some modifications to adapt one, the main problems being no awning channel, the dandy roof slopes to quite a low height at the ends, the height of the awning where the dandy door is.

Here's a load of threads on awnings which may help. There are quite a few ideas which may help.

[You must be registered and logged in to see this link.]
    belfast454

Post by belfast454 Tue 10 Jun 2014, 12:36 am

thank you for the warm welcome Smile the beds don't open over the tow hitch they open either side so i haven't a clue now what model it is lol.
    thank you for the link i will have a good look and see what i can come up with. the lady i bought the trailer off said she just attached a small gazebo to the front of it with bungee ropes.
    Tow Itch
    Tow Itch
    Dandy Expert